In a little less than two months, the world will get finally get a taste of the album already being billed as essentially the great thing man will ever hear. Yes folks, the release of U2‘s No Line On The Horizon is indeed on the horizon.

Ahead of the album’s March 3rd release date, Bono and the boys have final begun to unveil some of specifics, particularly the 11-song tracklist (see below) and the rather underwhelming album art. Ok, to be fair, the artwork, created by Japanese artist and photographer Hiroshi Sugimoto, does capture the idea of the album’s title, but I find a hard time believing anyone really views a giant equal sign smacked dab in the middle of the image as appealing, regardless of its context. But you be the judge for yourself…

As for the actual release, as mentioned, No Line On The Horizon will officially hit record stores on March 3rd. The album, which will be proceeded by its first single, “Get On Your Boots”, as a digitial download on February 15th, will be available in five formats:

  • Standard jewel case – with album CD and 24 page booklet
  • Digipak format – limited edition with album CD, 32 page colour booklet and fold out poster. Features access to exclusive downloadable Anton Corbijn film.
  • Magazine format – limited edition with album CD, with 64 page magazine. Features access to exclusive downloadable Anton Corbijn film.
  • Box format – limited edition bespoke box containing digipak format album CD, DVD of Anton Corbijn’s exclusive film, 64 page hardback book, plus a fold out poster.
  • LP vinyl – limited edition with 2 black vinyl discs, gatefold sleeve, and a 16 page booklet.

Unfortuantly, those looking for an actual sample or two, still have a bit of waiting to do, though considering U2 does have a scheduled performance in Washington, DC this Sunday, perhaps a few soundbites may pop up sooner rather than later. We’ll keep you updated…

No Line On The Horizon Tracklist:
01. No Line On The Horizon
02. Magnificent
03. Moment of Surrender
04. Unknown Caller
05. I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight
06. Get On Your Boots
07. Stand Up Comedy
08. Fez – Being Born
09. White As Snow
10. Breathe
11. Cedars Of Lebanon