What Is King Khan and The Shrines, you ask? Well, first and foremost, it is the name of twenty-two year-old King Khan, formerly of The Spaceshits, and his eight-piece band of misfits. Not to be confused with Khan’s other musical endeavor, The King Khan & BBQ Show, The Shrines bring an eclectic mix of sounds, including trumpet, trombone, and saxophone, behind the fury of garage rock.

If you wanted to get cute and clever and add a ? and a ! to What Is, then you’ll get the title of the outfit’s 2007 studio album, which come April 21st, will finally sees it U.S. release via Vice Records. Comprised of 14 tracks, the album drew critical acclaim when initially released on Germany’s Hazzlewood imprint, but for whatever reason, never received a prop stateside release, well, that it’s until now.

However, perhaps the even bigger news is that Khan and Co. will be supporting the upcoming release with a rare U.S. tour. Beginning in March, King Khan and The Shrines will head to North America for what is currently a 10-date trek, highlighted by appearances at the Harvest of Hope Festival and South by Southwest.


What Is?! Tracklist:
01. (How Can I Keep You) Outta Harms Way
02. I Wanna Be A Girl
03. Welfare Bread
04. Land of the Freak
05. I See Lights
06. 69 Faces of Love
07. No Regrets
08. Cosmic Serenade
09. Le Fils Du Jaques Dutronc
10. Let Me Holler
11. In Your Grave
12. Take A Little Bit
13. Fear & Love
14. The Ballad Of Lady Godiva

King Khan & The Shrines 2009 Tour Dates:
03/06 – Elkton, FL @ Harvest of Hope Fest
03/07 – Miami, FL @ The Vagabond
03/10 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
03/12 – Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel
03/13 – Nashville, TN @ Exit In
03/14 – Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone Cafe
03/15 – New Orleans, LA @ One Eyed Jacks
03/16 – Dallas, TX @ Palladium Loft
03/17 – San Antonio, TX @ The Warhol
03/20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW