Julian Marley to Awake

placeholder image

    Stephen (see: “Blazed and Confused” tour) and Damian (see: Nas collaboration) are not the only members of the Marley clan with a busy summer ahead. On May 26, Julian Marley will release Awake, his first studio album in nearly six years, via Ghetto Youths.

    Recorded at the Lion’s Den in Miami, Florida and Tuff Gong in Kingston, Jamaica, the 16-track followup to 2003’s A Time and Place is said to reflect the inspiration of, “all the family who have come before [him].” Which means, one should expect a sound that, “incorporates the roots-reggae sound that Julian has made his own, infused with street-energy hip-hop, bubbling dancehall and a smooth combination of R&B and reggae.” And like a good Marley, Awake is rife with a message – the album “call for everyone – youths and elders – to awaken to life’s joy and rewards and to do something positive with their lives.”

    To accomplish this, Marley got a little help from his family; both Damian and Stephen appear on the album. Members of Marley’s personal band, The Uprising, along with Marcia Griffiths, an original member of the I Threes, also lent their talents to Awake.


    Awake Tracklist:
    01. Awake
    02. Boom Draw
    03. On The Floor
    04. Rose Hall
    05. Little Too Late (feat. Stephen Marley)
    06. Justin Time
    07. Stay With Me
    08. All I Know
    09. Trying
    10. Violence (feat. Damian Marley)
    11. Sharp Aza Razor
    12. Oh Girl feat. Mr Cheeks
    13. Too Hot Too Dance
    14. Jah Works
    15. Road Of Creation
    16. Things Ain’t Cool