On April 6th, Portugal. The Man wrote the following on its Twitter: “Fast and the furious? Really? Oh yeah, Brand New kicked us out of our green room at USC. Star power! Someone has to use it!”

So perhaps its only ironic that in the same week we’re all wishing for a celebrity throw down between the two outfits, Portugal The Man have announced details for what looks to be a rather devilish new studio album. On July 21st, the Alaska based quartet will unearth The Satanic Satanist, an effort which sees Portugal mixing things up a bit – the band actually took a stab at pre-production things, like, oh writing and rehearsing and even enlisted a professional production team, headed by Paul Q. Kolderie, Adam Taylor, and Anthony Saffery – but in the end, still maintaining its one-of-a-kind sound.

Per keyboardist Ryan Neighbors:

“The songs all just kind of work together…They all have that Portugal sound even though the ideas themselves can be drastically different. It’s all still Portuguese.”


The release will be supported by the band’s first appearance at the Bonnaroo Music Festival, along with other, yet-to-be announced festival appearances and tour dates.

The Satanic Satanist Tracklist:
01. People Say
02. Work All Day
03. Lovers In Love
04. The Sun
05. The Home
06. The Woods
07. Guns and Dogs
08. Do You
09. Everyone Is Golden
10. Let You Down
11. Mornings

Portugal. The Man 2009 Tour Dates:
04/16 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile
04/17 – Boston, MA @ Northeastern University
04/25 – Fairbanks, AK @ University of Alaska Fairbanks
05/01 – Anchorage, AK @ Club Millennium
05/02 – Wasilla, AK @ Mat-Su Resort
06/11 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo Music Festival