A new Faith No More studio album on the horizon?

placeholder image

    By now, you’ve surely heard that Faith No More has reunited. If you haven’t, then let us inform you. Back in February, legendary experimental rockers, FNM, announced that they would reform for a European tour (minus guitarist Jim Martin), including stops at Download Festival and Hurricane Festival, to name a couple. This is the first time the band has played together since April of 1998. So after an eleven year hiatus from each other, Faith No More is returning to the stage – old news by now. But let’s think for a moment of what could make this even better: a planned studio album.

    Although it has not yet been officially confirmed by the band, a rumor has sprouted from Kill Your Stereo that Faith No More intend to release a new studio album. Mike Patton has kept mum about the possibility but let’s consider that in April of last year, when asked about the likelihood of a reunion by Fuse TV’s Talking Metal, he replied, “I highly doubt it.” Like a skilled politician, he’s told us these white lies before. Back in 1998, Patton denied rumors of a breakup before Faith No More the band capitulated and pulled out of a Aerosmith tour.

    Well, all we can do is wait. But do not despair. Rhino Records will release a greatest hits and b-sides double CD entitled, The Very Best Definitive Ultimate Greatest Hits Collection. Due for release on June 8th in the the UK and June 9, 2009 in the states, the album’s first disc will include the best of the best of their catalogue while the second is a collection of b-sides.


    Unfortunately, as far as we can tell, still no plans for a North American tour. Maybe they’re waiting for that new album?

    The Very Best Definitive Ultimate Greatest Hits Collection Disc 1 Tracklist:
    01. The Real Thing
    02. From Out of Nowhere
    03. Epic
    04. We Care a Lot
    05. R’n’R
    06. Kindergarten
    07. Caffeine
    08. Land of Sunshine
    09. Be Aggressive
    10. Midlife Crisis
    11. A Small Victory
    12. Everything’s Ruined
    13. Evidence
    14. Digging the Grave
    15. Ricochet
    16. Ashes to Ashes
    17. Stripsearch
    18. Easy

    The Very Best Definitive Ultimate Greatest Hits Collection Disc 2 Tracklist:
    01. Absolute Zero
    02. The Big Kahuna
    03. Light Up And Let Go
    04. I Won’t Forget You
    05. The World Is Yours
    06. Hippie Jam Song
    07. Sweet Emotion
    08. New Improved Song
    09. Das Schutzenfest
    10. This Guy’s In Love With You


    Faith No More 2009 Tour Dates:
    06/10 – London, UK @ Brixton Academy
    06/12 – Donington Park, UK @ Download Festival
    06/13 – Interlaken, CH @ Greenfield Festival
    06/14 – Milan, IT @ Rock in Idro
    06/16 – Berlin, DE @ Kindl-Buhne Wuhlheide
    06/19 – Nickelsdorf, AT @ Nova Rock Festival
    06/20 – Eichenring Scheeflel, DE @ Hurricane Festival
    06/21 – Tuttlingen, DE @ Southside Festival
    06/22 – Frankfurt, DE @ Jahrhunderthalle
    06/24 – Helsinki, FI @ Kaisaniemi Park
    06/25 – Arendal, NO @ Hove Festival
    06/27 – Borlange, SE @ Peace and Love Festival
    07/03 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
    07/05 – Turku, FI @ Ruisrock Festival
    08/20 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
    08/21 – NL @ Lowlands Festival
    08/22 – Erfurt, DE @ Highfield Festival
    08/23 – Oberhausen, DE @ Area 4 Festival
    08/29 – Paris, FR @ Rock en Seine