Simian Mobile Disco to release Temporary Pleasure this summer

placeholder image

    By Temporary Pleasure, we mean Simian Mobile Disco’s new album. Last we heard from these boys, they were busy becoming successful, thumb tacking their wall maps with places they toured through. Their debut album, Attack, Decay, Release, Sustain flew off the shelves and was downloaded by thousands, surprising even the best of cynics who still struggle to embrace a great electronic album. Following on the heels of Justice, Simian Mobile Disco lured listeners to their brand of electronica, and now their anticipated sophomore effort will take it all one step higher.

    This duo of DJs/producers, whose diverse influence include Black Sabbath and Sun Ra amongst a bevy of dance floor-filling electronic artists, are circulating the web again with news of an upcoming album, entitled Temporary Pleasure, that is scheduled for release on August 17, 2009 from Wichita Records. The question is, however: can Simian Mobile Disco repel the dreaded curse of the sophomore album? Well, let’s do a brief analysis and make our best guesstimate.

    For Temporary Pleasure, the duo employed the voices of some of music’s best vocalists, including Beth Ditto of Gossip, Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals, Chris Keating of Yeasayer, Jamie Lidell of Funk Merchant, and Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip. That sounds all well and good but let’s consider that this is Simian Mobile Disco’s second album, and there’s also that curse of the second album that many falter on.


    Their debut was released in 2007, which has given James Ford and James Anthony Shaw plenty of time to meticulously craft their songs, and with a guest list such as the aforementioned artists, how can they go wrong? Well, until the release of Temporary Pleasure, check out the lead single, “10,000 Horses Can’t Be Wrong” on MySpace and let us know.

    To build up hype for Temporary Pleasure, Simian Mobile Disco is continuing its extensive world tour through Europe this summer, making stops in Los Angeles for the Electric Daisy Carnival and Chicago for Lollapalooza.

    Temporary Pleasure Tracklist:
    01. Cream Dream (feat. Gruff Rhys)
    02. Audacity of Huge (feat. Chris Keating)
    03. 10,000 Horses Can’t Be Wrong
    04. Cruel Intentions (feat. Beth Ditto)
    05. Off The Map (feat. Jamie Lidell)
    06. Synthesise
    07. Bad Blood (feat. Alexis Taylor)
    08. Turn Up The Dial (feat. Young Fathers)
    09. Ambulance
    10. Pinball (feat. Telepathe)


    Simian Mobile Disco Tour 2009 Tour Dates:
    05/07 – Milan, IT @ Amnesia (DJ)
    05/16 – Liverpool, UK @ Chibuku (DJ)
    05/23 – Cologne, DE @ Electronic Beats (Live PA)
    05/30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound (Live PA)
    06/05 – Newcastle, UK @ Digital (DJ)
    06/05 – Leeds, UK @ Stylus (DJ)
    06/06 – Newcastle, UK @ Digital Summer Ball (DJ)
    06/12 – Rijeka, HR @ Hartera Festival (DJ)
    06/19 – Manchester, UK @ Sankeys
    06/27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Electric Daisy Carnival (Live PA)
    07/11 – Paris, FR @ We Love Green Festival (Live PA)
    07/12 – Balado, UK @ T In The Park (Live PA)
    07/16 – Amsterdam, NL @ 5 Days (Live PA)
    07/17 – Ferropolis, DE @ Melt! Festival (Live PA)
    07/18 – Montreux, CH @ Montreux Jazz Festival (Live PA)
    07/19 – London, UK @ Lovebox (Live PA)
    07/24 – Fuji, JP @ Fuji Rock (Live PA)
    07/29 – London, UK @ Camden Roundhouse (Live PA)
    08/07 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza (DJ)
    08/20 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop (DJ)
    09/06 – Laois, IE @ Electric Picnic (DJ)