Bright Eyes, M. Ward, Jim James — that’s all folk!

placeholder image

    When I think of a supergroup entitled Monsters of Folk, I can’t help but picture a skinny white guy strapped into an acoustic guitar yelling to an arena full of beatniks, “For those about to folk, we saluuuuute you!”

    Well, I got the skinny-white-guy part right. For in the vein of Velvet Revolver and Tinted Windows, Monsters of Folk — which will be releasing a self-titled album September 22 — consists of Bright Eyes’ Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James and M. Ward’s (also She & Him’s) M. Ward. So, I guess the rumors were true, eh?

    According to press release legend, Monsters of Folk was the nickname bestowed upon the musicians’ joint 2004 tour, on which they performed as both individual acts and together onstage. A promise was made to record collaboratively one day, which wound up taking place over several short stints in the studio when they found time, in both Malibu and Omaha (the latter being Oberst’s home base).


    On the 15-track release, each musician takes turns on each instrument, with Mogis helming things on the production end.

    No word yet as to a tour; stay tuned, folks!

    Monsters of Folk Tracklist:
    01. Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
    02. Say Please
    03. Whole Lotta Losin’
    04. Temazcal
    05. The Right Place
    06. Baby Boomer
    07. Man Named Truth
    08. Goodway
    09. Ahead of the Curve
    10. Slow Down Jo
    11. Losin Yo Head
    12. Magic Marker
    13. Map of the World
    14. The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
    15. His Master’s Voice