Broken Records prep U.S. debut

placeholder image

    Can’t say we’re at all surprised with this one. After all, way back in February of 2008, we wrote the following: “It’s getting to the point, where there are just too many talented, young bands in Europe these days and it’s beginning to get quite hard to keep up. Fortunately for Scottish natives Broken Records, they shouldn’t have too much trouble catching the ears of music critics.”

    In the months that followed these insightful words, Broken Records have done everything possible to live up to them. The septet has played all the European music festivals, signed with 4AD Records, the same label that serves home for such acts as The National, The Breeders, and St. Vincent, been deemed Scotland’s version of The Arcade Fire, and celebrated the U.K. release of its debut LP, Until the Earth Begins to Part.

    And come July 14th, you can add one more achievement to that resume. That’s because on that day Broken Records will release the 10-track effort in the U.S.


    No tour dates on this side of the Atlantic quite yet, but if you happen to find yourself in Europe in the coming months, check them out.

    Check Out:
    “If The News Makes You Sad, Don’t Watch It”

    Until the Earth Begins Tracklist:
    01. Nearly Home
    02. If The News Makes You Sad, Don’t Watch It
    03. Until The Earth Begins To Part
    04. A Promise
    05. Thoughts On A Picture
    06. If Eilert Loevborg Wrote A Song, It Would Sound Like This
    07. Wolves
    08. Ghosts
    09. A Good Reason
    10. Slow Parade