Speech Debelle brings Mercury nominated album to U.S.

placeholder image

    Let’s be honest, female rappers aren’t always repping, right? Sure, Missy Elliott can spit just about as well as anyone out there, but she is a rare breed. It’s not fair to compare Speech Debelle, one of 12 acts nominated for the Mercury Prize this year, to Missy, but her rhymes are definitely up there. Debelle makes me proud to be British. She has excellent flow, and matches it with a throw-back jazz instrumental, full of skatty drum breaks and muted brass.

    Her debut album, Speech Therapy has picked up column inches in numerous UK tabloids, resulting in the much deserved nomination earlier this week. A win looks unlikely, but the resultant press has caused a U.S. release of the album on August 18, through Dada Records. Guest artists include Roots Manuva, Micachu, and more.

    Yes, kids, this is one album worth checking out.

    Speech Therapy Tracklist:
    01. Searching
    02. The Key
    03. Better Days
    04. Spinnin’
    05. Go Then, Bye
    06. Daddy’s Little Girl
    07. Bad Boy
    08. Wheels In Motion
    09. Live And Learn
    10. Working Weak
    11. Buddy Love
    12. Finish This Album
    13. Speech Therapy