The Swell Season shares a bit of Strict Joy

placeholder image

    Oscar winners/actors/musicians/companions/former lovers Marketa Irglova and Glen Hansard are finally ready to offer up a second helpings of their docile, folky, heart-ache driven rock. Yes, the folk duo known to you and me as The Swell Season has announced a September 29th release date for its much-anticipated sophomore studio effort, Strict Joy.

    Named after a work by Irish poet James Stephens, the 12-track effort will of course follow the duo’s work on the soundtrack for Once, which happened to see a fair amount of success earn The Swell Season an ACADEMY AWARD for Best Original Song in 2008.

    Needless to say, following up such a successful release is one tall order. To help out, Irglova and Hansard tapped Peter Katis (The National, Interpol) to produce and rounded up Frames members Colm Mac Iomaire, Joe Doyle, and Rob Bochnik, Lenoard Cohen guitarist Javier Mas, Doveman pianist Thomas Bartlett, Chicago Underground Duo’s Chad Taylor and horn players Steven Bernstein and Clark Gayton, best known for their work with Levon Helm’s band, to serve as the musical support.


    The duo will tour the U.S. extensively this fall in support of the release. Exact dates are still forthcoming.

    Strict Joy Tracklist:
    01. Low Rising
    02. Feeling the Pull
    03. In These Arms
    04. The Rain
    05. Fantasy Man
    06. Paper Cup
    07. High Horses
    08. The Verb
    09. I Have Loved You Wrong
    10. Love That Conquers
    11. Two Tongues
    12. Back Broke