This just may have been one of the best albums to come out of the Washington DC hardcore punk scene in the early 90’s. Considering fellow Dischord label mates such as Fugazi, Shudder to Think and Minor Threat were also releasing quality albums during that time, that’s saying a lot.

The year was 1994 and Jawbox opted to move on from Dischord and sign with Atlantic Records. This left many fans (this writer included) thinking “sell out. Luckily, that wasn’t the case as Jawbox stayed true to its roots and released what would end up being arguably the band’s best album of its somewhat short lived career (1989-1997).

This November 24th, Dischord and DeSoto Records (who now owns the rights to the entire Jawbox catalog), will release a remastered version of For Your Own Special Sweetheart. Dischord was able to enlist Bob Weston (bass player for Shellac) as lead engineer for the remastering process. In addition to this, the reissue will also get 3 bonus tracks from the Savory+3 EP which was also released by Atlantic in 1994. The bonus tracks will be included on the CD, but the vinyl version that is released the same day will not initially include them. Instead, the vinyl purchase will include a redeemable coupon that will allow you to digitally download the songs.


For Your Own Special Sweetheart Tracklist:
01. FF=66
02. Savory
03. Breathe
04. Motorist
05. LS/MFT
06. Cooling Card
07. Green Glass
08. Cruel Swing
09. Jackpot Plus!
10. Chicago Piano
11. Reel
12. U-Trau
13. Whitney Walks
14. L’il Shaver *
15. 68 *
16. Sound on Sound *

* = Bonus tracks