After some brutal shows co-headlining with Marilyn Manson on Mayhem Festival this year, our favorite thrash metal legends graciously unveil the track listing for World Painted Blood. This will be Slayer‘s tenth studio effort set for release on November 2nd, and by the sound of drummer Dave Lombardo’s enthusiasm on tour it could very well be the most experimental and melodic release ever — though not so much it “becomes deformed”.

The ever chatty Lombardo spoke of the recording process in the current press release:

Recording this new album has been one of the greatest experiences we’ve had as a band. We were together during the writing process more than we had been for past albums, we worked more collectively, everyone’s suggestions and ideas were heard and considered, and that camaraderie is definitely heard in the new album.

We think it is safe to expect the basics on World Painted Blood, the stuff Slayer is truly made of and been dubbed masterful at: destructive guitar courtesy of Hanneman and King, the pounding of our dearest “double bass god” and naturally vocalist Araya showcasing banshee pipes galore. The song titles seem heavily rooted in references to chemical warfare and anarchy, rather commonplace themes amidst the Slayer catalog though here it seems to touch on everything at once and we like the sound of that. Based on initial single “Psychopathy Red”, all who remain die hard fans will not be disappointed as World Painted Blood trots ever closer to the world at large.


World Painted Blood will be packaged on CD in deluxe versions including a DVD, a limited version with multiple covers as well as a 180-gram vinyl edition (sounds like a merry Christmas for some little metal heads out there). Assuming the rumors come true, Slayer may indeed show off the new chops on tour with Metallica, Anthrax and Megadeth so pick up your copy immediately and keep with the crimson tide.

Slayer might be an acquired taste for the unfamiliar, but take heed this warning. The fall will make us shiver, and Slayer will make us warm with devastating implosions in the brain like back to back shots of Jack laced with cyanide — get ready to head bang boys and girls.

World Painted Blood Tracklist:
1. World Painted Blood
2. Unit 731
3. Snuff
4. Beauty Through Order
5. Hate Worldwide
6. Public Display Of Dismemberment
7. Human Strain
8. Americon
9. Psychopathy Red
10. Playing With Dolls
11. Not Of This God