It turns out that reissues and eight-disc box set titled The Catalogue won’t be donning the name Kraftwerk in the months ahead. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, 2010 will see the release of the influential electric band’s first new studio album since 2003’s Tour De France Soundtracks.

“There’s still time to go, but in the winter it’s pretty gray here, so it’s a good situation to go into the studio, frontman Ralf Hütter explained in an interview with Billboard. “It’s still very early. It’s still in its embryonic stage.”

As a result of this earliness, Hütter have anymore specifics to share, but did note that the band will likely tour in support of the album once it is completed and released.


In the meantime, fans will have those aforementioned reissues to hold them over — Autobahn (1974), Radio-Activity (1975), Trans Europe Express (1977), The Man Machine (1978), and Tour De France (2003) were all re-issued this yesterday (Oct. 6). What’s more, on November 17th, Kraftwerk will release 12345678, subtitled The Catalogue, an eight-disc, 35th anniversary box set featuring the band’s discography from 1974-2003. Each of the titles has been remastered and come in “mini-vinyl” wallet card packaging, with large-format booklets that replicate the artwork of the original releases. The albums will also be available as downloads and heavyweight vinyl LPs.

So, get excited.