To celebrate its seventh birthday, Paper Bag Records has combined two of our favorite things in music: covers and free stuff. The Seven Year Itch, as Stereogum reports, is a new compilation of cover songs performed by twelve of label’s artists, and can be obtained right this very second for free. Just click here.

Launched in 2002, Paper Bag Records has emerged as one of he premier indie labels, and for good reason. In its first year, the label released the critically acclaimed You Forgot It In People by Broken Social Scene and has since added names like You Say Party! We Say Die!, Sally Shapiro, Tokyo Police Club, and Little Girls to its roster. NOW magazine was so pleased with its work that it recently crowned Paper Bag as the best Toronto label.

Getting back to the compilation, the 12-track effort includes covers of Nirvana, Dylan, OutKast, and Beck from the likes of Winter Gloves, Rock Plaza Central, The Acorn, and CFCF. Talk about an awesome birthday present!


The Seven Year Itch Tracklist
01 CFCF – “How Bizarre” (OMC cover)
02 Winter Gloves – “Smells Like Teen Spirit” (Nirvana cover)
03 Woodhands – “Electric Avenue” (Eddy Grant cover)
04 Sally Shapiro – “Dying In Africa” (Nicolas Makelberge cover)
05 You Say Party! We Say Die! – “Falling Out” (Rick Agnew cover)
06 Josh Reichmann – “Daniel” (Bat For Lashes cover)
07 Laura Barrett – “Gamma Ray” (Beck cover)
08 Rock Plaza Central – “I Want You” (Bob Dylan cover)
09 The Acorn – “Strange Animal” (Gowan cover)
10 Little Girls – “Heinz” (Artery cover)
11 Slim Twig – “Behold A Lady” (OutKast cover)
12 Under Byen – “Du er min øjesten” (Peter Malberg cover)