Norman Cook, aka Fat Boy Slim, is no stranger to high-profile collaborations. But his latest project might just take the cake. In fact, it does… like totally.

As we told you back in October, Cook and David Byrne have once again teamed up for a rather unique project. Following in the footsteps of The Brighton Port Authority’s I Think We’re Gonna Need a Bigger Boat, the legendary duo hit the studio with a number of other high-profile musicians for a concept album based on the life of former first lady of the Philippines Imelda Marcos — you know, the chick with all the shoes.

“Each track is sung by a different singer and there’s some very interesting guests on there,” Cook explained of the album in an interview with NME. He wasn’t kidding.


Featured on two disc, 22-track Here Lies Love are a number of music’s favorite female voices, including Tori Amos, St. Vincent, Santigold, Róisín Murphy, Sharon Jones, Cyndi Lauper, Sia, Martha Wainwright, Nicole Atkins, Florence & the Machine’s Florence Welch, Natalie Merchant, My Brightest Diamond’s Shara Worden, Alice Russell, The B-52’s Kate Pierson, Allison Moorer, and Nellie McKay. In fact, only two tracks include male vocals — Steve Earle sings on “A Perfect Hand”, while Byrne handles “American Troglodyte”.

And if all that wasn’t enough, the whole thing concludes on track 22, ” Why Don’t You Love Me?”, with what should be a rather unique duet featuring Amos and Lauper.

But wait… there’s more! The album, which will be released on February 23rd via Nonesuch Records, comes packaged with 100-page book detailing the project and a DVD.


Here Lies Love Tracklist:
Disc One:
01. Here Lies Love (feat. Florence Welch)
02. Every Drop of Rain (feat. Candie Payne & St. Vincent)
03. You’ll Be Taken Care Of (feat. Tori Amos)
04. The Rose of Tacloban (feat. Martha Wainwright)
05. How Are You? (feat. Nellie McKay)
06. A Perfect Hand (feat. Steve Earle)
07. Eleven Days (feat. Cyndi Lauper)
08. When She Passed By (feat. Allison Moorer)
09. Walk Like a Woman (feat. Charmaine Clamor)
10. Don’t You Agree? (feat. Róisín Murphy)
11. Pretty Face (feat. Camille)
12. Ladies in Blue (feat. Theresa Andersson)

Disc Two:
01. Dancing Together (feat. Sharon Jones)
02. Men Will Do Anything (feat. Alice Russel
03. The Whole Man (feat. Kate Pierson)
04. Never So Big (feat. Sia)
05. Please Don’t (feat. Santigold)
06. American Troglodyte
07. Solano Avenue (feat. Nicole Atkins)
08. Order 1081 (feat. Natalie Merchant)
09. Seven Years (feat. Shara Worden)
10. Why Don’t You Love Me? (feat. Cyndi Lauper & Tori Amos)