Gorillaz officially announce new album, Plastic Beach

placeholder image

    Following months of hope, hearsay, rumors, demos, and leaks, Damon Albarn has finally made it official. On March 9th, Albarn will resurrect Gorillaz for the release of the acclaimed project’s third studio album, Plastic Beach.

    As previously reported, the followup to 2005’s Demon Days will feature a bounty of high-profile contributors, including Lou Reed, Snoop Dogg, Mos Def, Bobby Womack, De La Soul, and Little Dragon. Also making an appearance are none other than The Clash’s Mick Jones and Paul Simonon! Find the complete 16-song tracklisting below.

    The story behind the album goes something like this: “The band have taken up residence, recording on a secret floating island deep in the South Pacific, a Plastic Beach HQ, made up of the detritus, debris and washed up remnants of humanity. This Plastic Beach is the furthest point from any landmass on Earth; the most deserted spot on the planet.” Ah, now it all makes sense!


    Plastic Beach will be headed by the release of “Stylo” on January 26th. The song, which leaked onto the Internet earlier today, will receive its radio broadcast premiere tonight.

    The Gorillaz’ return will be marked by a headline appearance at this year’s Coachella Music Festival. The Sunday April 18 performance will be the first Gorillaz live spectacle on U.S. soil since the Demon Days Live run in April 2006 at New York’s Apollo Theater. So, get ready.

    Plastic Beach Tracklist:
    01. Orchestral Intro (feat. Sinfonia ViVA)
    02. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
    03. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
    04. Rhinestone Eyes
    05. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
    06. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
    07. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
    08. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
    09. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
    10. On Melancholy Hill
    11. Broken
    12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
    13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
    14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
    15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
    16. Pirate Jet