The Brian Jonestown Massacre sets release date for 10th album

placeholder image

    Back in November, we told you about The Brian Jonestown Massacre‘s forthcoming 10th album, and left you with a strange video stream and an unconfirmed tracklist (which is largely unchanged). Now the psychedelic San Francisco outfit is back and with the band is an old friend — founding member Matt Hollywood, whose departure was famously captured in the documentary Dig!. Who Killed Sgt. Pepper, out February 23 via a recordings LTD, is Hollywood’s first appearance on a BJM release since 1999’s Bringing It All Back Home – Again.

    As you might expect with a title referencing The Beatles’ classic, this album is going to be experimental, feature lots of hired musicians and sound all cultural and stuff. Among the guests are a certain Spacemen 3 bassist by the name of Will Carruthers and Icelandic vocalist Unnur Andrea Einarsdottir. Who Killed was recorded in Iceland and Berlin, and will supposedly feature gypsy and ambient Bhangra sounds. So yeah, cultural.

    Moreover, BJM is touring the U.S. this spring. Details when they arrive.

    Who Killed Sgt. Pepper? Tracklist:
    01. Tempo 116.7 (Reaching For Dangerous Levels Of Sobriety)
    02. Tunger Hnifur
    03. Lets Go Fucking Mental
    04. White Music
    05. This Is The First Of Your Last Warnings (Icelandic)
    06. This Is The One Thing We Did Not Want To Have Happen
    07. The One
    08. Someplace Else Unknown
    09. Detka! Detka! Detka!
    10. Super Fucked
    11. Our Time
    12. Feel It
    13. Felt Tipped-Pen Pictures Of UFOs