Thursday details new album, No Devolucion


    You would probably have to ask a Ph.D in popular music if there’s a genre called “post –post-hardcore”, but if Thursday have anything to do with it, then they’ll be the ones to let you know what it actually sounds like. After teasing audiences with sonic glimpses of their sixth studio LP on a recent tour, the New Jersey-based emo/post-hardcore/screamo/whatever-core outfit have officially announced that the album – titled No Devolucion – will hit shelves and hard drives on April 12th.

    They cite bands like The Smiths, Portishead, The Cure, and the Garden State’s own Bruce Springsteen as influences for the 12-track effort, which SPIN reports is the group’s “most experimental effort to date.” The album title translates to “no returns” in Spanish, and frontman Ricky Geoff said that “half the reason we picked the title is cause if you buy it, you got it!” He says that there are still a few heavy songs on the effort, but that the band wanted to make something more sweeping and graceful.

    No Devolucion’s seventh track, “Magnets Caught In A Metal Heart”, is the world’s first taste of the set, and while the synthesizers and vocal effects do make it less heavy than Thursday’s usual output, the cut still features Geoff’s trademark vocal phrasing and a nifty, staccato-picked guitar part. Initially, the singer was embarrassed of how poppy he thought “Magnets” sounded, but he eventually came around and decided to use the song as a warning to fans expecting the same old same old. “This is a really different record,” he said, “so we decided to come out of the gates with a really different song.”


    You can check out Spin’s exclusive stream of the song here, and take a look at the tracklist below. The band will spend two weeks in April playing some European dates and are set to return stateside on May 5th when they play the House of Blues in Boston. Complete tour dates are listed below, and you can get tickets for select dates at If you’re sold already, you can pre-order No Devolucion here.

    No Devolucion Tracklist:
    01. Fast to the End
    02. No Answers
    03. A Darker Forest
    04. Sparks Against the Sun
    05. Open Quotes
    06. Past and Future Ruins
    07. Magnets Caught in a Metal Heart
    08. Empty Glass
    09. A Gun in the First Act
    10. Millimeter
    11. Turnpike Devices
    12. Stay True

    Thursday 2011 Tour Dates:
    03/25 – Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
    04/19 – London, UK @ Kings College
    04/20 – Manchester, UK @ Academy 3
    04/21 – Cardiff, UK @ Millennium Music Hall
    04/22 – Meerhout, BE @ Groezrock
    04/24 – Berlin, DE @ Monster Bash
    04/26 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
    04/27 – Cologne, DE @ Live Music Hall
    04/28 – Munich, DE @ Feirwerk
    04/29 – Hamburg, DE @ Markthalle
    05/05 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues
    05/06 – Upper Darby, PA @ Tower Theatre
    05/07 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
    05/08 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom
    05/09 – West Chester, PA @ The Note
    05/10 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
    05/11 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle
    05/12 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
    06/09 – Oslo, NO @ Frognerbadet
    07/07 – Alges, PT @ Passeio Martimo de Alges
    08/12 – Budapest, HU @ Obudai Donauinsel


Leave a comment

Around The Web