Check Out: Zechs Marquise – “Everlasting Beacon of Light” (CoS Premiere)

    As cliché as it is, a sophomore slump is a relatively valid fear for artist and fan alike  But given the pedigree of Zechs Marquise, the fear diminishes quite a bit. Featuring Marcel and Marfred Rodriguez-Lopez (the former of Mars Volta fame), the El Paso, TX outfit will release their second album Getting Paid on September 27th via Rodriguez-Lopez Productions. They’ve even invited brother and fellow Volta bandmate Rikardo Rodriguez-Lopez to join in on keyboard trumpet for this go-around.

    The first track to surface from the forthcoming album is “Everlasting Beacon of Light,” a dense, layered track that expands on the bands hazy, aggressive prog stylings of 2009’s Our Delicate Stranded Nightmare. The offering has almost a trip-hop feel to it as it builds up and finally explodes with the wrecking ball intensity we’ve come to love from the Brothers Rodriguez. Check out the song and the full tracklist to Getting Paid below.

    Zechs Marquise – “Everlasting Beacon of Light”

    Getting Paid Tracklist:
    01. Getting Paid
    02. Lock Jaw Night Vision
    03. Static Lovers
    04. The Heat, The Drought, The Thirst, and The Insanity
    05. Time Masters
    06. Guajira
    07. Everlasting Beacon of Light
    08. Crushin’ It!
    09. Mega Slap