Bitch Magnet preps career-spanning box set

    It’s now safe to go ahead and add seminal post-punk icons Bitch Magnet to the expansive list of talent All Tomorrow’s Parties can take credit for reuniting. According to a press release, it was an invitation from Battles, who are co-curating ATP: Nightmare Before Christmas, that coaxed Bitch Magnet from an early retirement.

    Now, the Ohio-turned-North Carolina post-hardcore are set to offer another slightly skewed Xmas gift when they reissue their groundbreaking studio recordings with an eponymously-titled three-disc box set. The collection will include the group’s three studio recordings, Ben Hur, Umber, and Star Booty, plus five previously unreleased early versions of key Bitch Magnet songs all newly mixed with John Congleton (Explosions in the Sky and St. Vincent) in October 2010. The reissues also include a rediscovered “louder” mix of Umber‘s classic leadoff track “Motor” – an artifact borrowed from Umber recording engineer’s Mike McMackin’s personal archives.

    The box set is set to hit shelves December 6th via Temporary Residence Limited. Check the entire tracklist, and stream the Ben Hur fan-favorite “Mesentery” below.


    The trio will be ushering in the reissues with select international dates. More dates are expected on the horizon, but peep all confirmed dates following the box set tracklisting.

    Bitch Magnet – “Mesentery”

    Bitch Magnet Tracklist:
    LP / Disc One (Ben Hur, plus extra tracks)
    01. Dragoon
    02. Valmead
    03. Ducks and Drakes
    04. Mesentery
    05. Lookin’ At The Devil
    06. Gator
    07. Spite y Malice
    08. Crescent
    09. White Piece of Bread *
    10. Sadie*

    LP / Disc Two (Umber, plus extra track)
    01. Motor
    02. Navajo Ace
    03. Clay
    04. Joan of Arc
    05. Douglas Leader
    06. Goat-Legged Country God
    07. Big Pining
    08. Joyless Street
    09. Punch and Judy
    10. Americruiser
    11. Motor (louder mix) **


    LP / Disc Three (Pre-Umber recordings and Star Booty)
    01. Punch and Judy **
    02. Joan of Arc **
    03. Big Pining **
    04. Joyless Street **
    05. Sadie **
    06. Carnation
    07. C Word
    08. Sea of Pearls
    09. Hatpins
    10. Knucklehead
    11. Circle K
    12. Polio
    13. Cantaloupe

    * = non-LP track
    ** = previously unreleased

    Bitch Magnet 2011 Tour Dates:

    11/05 – Seoul, KR @ Club FF
    11/07 – Tokyo, JP @ Shibuya O-Nest
    12/10 – Minehead, UK @ ATP Nightmare Before Christmas
    12/13 – London, UK @ The Garage $

    $ = w / Hot Snakes