Check Out: Damon Albarn – “The Marvelous Dream”

    As previously reported, Damon Albarn will release the soundtrack to his opera, Dr. Dee, on May 8th via Virgin Records. As a first listen, stream the lead single, “The Marvelous Dream”, below.

    Inspired by the life of mathematician, polymath, and advisor to Elizabeth I John Dee, Dr. Dee was recorded late last year in both Albarn’s West London studio and with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in Salford. Over 18 tracks, the songs pair Albarn’s vocals over “early English choral and instrumentation alongside modern, West African and Renaissance sounds,” according to a press release.

    Dr. Dee Tracklist:
    01. The Golden Dawn
    02. Apple Carts
    03. Oh Spirit Animate Us
    04. The Moon Exalted
    05. A Man of England
    06. Saturn
    07. Coronation
    08. The Marvelous Dream
    09. A Prayer
    10. Edward Kelley
    11. Preparation
    12. 9 point Star
    13. Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
    14. Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away
    15. Moon (Interlude)
    16. Cathedrals
    17. Tree Of Life
    18. The Dancing King