Elton John to release Classic Album Selection (1970-73) box set


    elton john box Elton John to release Classic Album Selection (1970 73) box set

    On July 16th, Universal Music will compile five Elton John album from the early 1970’s in a new box set, aptly titled Classic Album Selection (1970-73).

    The collection includes John’s self-titled sophomore record, Tumbleweed Connection, Madman Across the Water, Honky Château, and Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player. While no new bonus or unreleased tracks are part of the collection, these five classics include some of the Rocket Man’s most popular songs: Elton John features his breakthrough single “Your Song”, Madman has “Tiny Dancer”, Château gave us “Rocket Man”, and Only the Piano Player introduced “Crocodile Rock”. Of course, they all have more than just one great song, so check out the track lists just ahead.

    In addition, Universal will release the Elton Vs. Pnau remix album on July 2nd. The album came about when John gave Australian duo Pnau (who also perform as Empire of the Sun) full access to his archive of master recordings from 1970 to 1976. By adding their own samples, loops, and original material, Pnau has reincarnated some of John’s most beloved material into completely new compositions. More info on that is available at

    Elton John Tracklist:
    01. Your Song
    02. I Need You To Turn To
    03. Take Me To The Pilot
    04. No Shoe Strings On Louise
    05. First Episode At Hienton
    06. Sixty Years On
    07. Border Song
    08. The Greatest Discovery
    09. The Cage
    10. The King Must Die
    11. Bad Side Of The Moon (Single Version)
    12. Grey Seal
    13. Rock And Roll Madonna

    Tumbleweed Connection Tracklist:
    01. Ballad Of A Well-Known Gun
    02. Come Down In Time
    03. Country Comfort
    04. Son Of Your Father
    05. My Father’s Gun
    06. Where To Now St. Peter?
    07. Love Song
    08. Amoreena
    09. Talking Old Soldiers
    10. Burn Down The Mission
    11. Into The Old Man’s Shoes
    12. Madman Across The Water (Original Version)


    Madman Across the Water Tracklist:
    01. Tiny Dancer
    02. Levon
    03. Razor Face
    04. Madman Across The Water
    05. Indian Sunset
    06. Holiday Inn
    07. Rotten Peaches
    08. All The Nasties
    09. Goodbye

    Honky Château Tracklist:
    01. Honky Cat
    02. Mellow
    03. I Think I’m Going To Kill Myself
    04. Susie (Dramas)
    05. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long Long Time)
    06. Salvation
    07. Slave
    08. Amy
    09. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters
    10. Hercules
    11. Slave (Alternate ‘Fast’ Version)

    Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player Tracklist:
    01. Daniel
    02. Teacher I Need You
    03. Elderberry Wine
    04. Blues For My Baby And Me
    05. Midnight Creeper
    06. Have Mercy On The Criminal
    07. I’m Gonna Be A Teenage Idol
    08. Texan Love Song
    09. Crocodile Rock
    10. High Flying Bird
    11. Screw You (Young Man’s Blues)
    12. Jack Rabbit (Single Version)
    13. Whenever You’re Ready (We’ll Go Steady Again) (Single Version)
    14. Skyline Pigeon (Piano Version)


Personalized Stories

Around The Web