Listen to Summer Camp’s new, disco-inspired single, “Fresh”


    When London pop duo Summer Camp released their 2011 debut, Welcome to Condale, they burst on to the scene (and in to some folk’s hearts) with an earnest blend of summer-ready ballads about crushes and having fun. With last year’s Always EP, the CoSigned pair underwent a transitional period, experimenting with cleaner, more rigid beats and lyrics surrounding the inevitable emotional fallout of young love. In September, they’ll share the next phase of their musical journey with the release of their self-titled sophomore LP via Moshi Moshi.

    For an early indication of where they’re headed, the duo has unveiled the album’s lead single, “Fresh”. Already known for their nostalgic leanings, the pair looks toward disco for inspiration, crafting a breezy dance tune of sultry guitar and sweeping strings like a pop-rock Donna Summers. And keeping with the retro vibe, singer Elizabeth Sankey, whose vocals are especially effervescent and focused, recounts the glory of all first loves with equal parts longing and detachment (“No heartbreak has ever been as good/I’d rather be hurt by you instead”).

    Watch the song’s accompanying lyric video below.


    Summer Camp Tracklist:
    01. The End
    02. Fresh
    03. Crazy
    04. Keep Falling
    05. Two Chords
    06. Fighters
    07. I Got You
    08. Everything Has Changed
    09. Phone Call
    10. Night Drive
    11. Pink Summer
    12. Over It (Bonus Track)