Van Morrison announces deluxe reissue of Moondance

    Van Morrison Moondance

    Van Morrison has announced a deluxe reissue of his classic 1969 album, Moondance. Available September 30th through Warner Bros., the five-disc set includes a newly remastered version of the original album, along with 50 unreleased tracks, studio outtakes, unheard mixes, and more.

    As a press release notes:

    The Deluxe Edition unearths an amazing trove of unreleased gems that take the listener right alongside Morrison and his band in studio. There are multiple, often lengthy, takes from the recording sessions of nearly every track found on the 1970 original, including “Glad Tidings”, “Brand New Day” and “Come Running”. There are also early takes of “I’ve Been Working”, a song that would appear later that year on His Band And The Street Choir. The early version included here is quite different from the official album version. The Deluxe Edition also includes a Blu-Ray audio disc with high-resolution stereo and surround mixes of the original album, mixed by original engineer Elliot Scheiner, who also oversaw the new re-mastering of the album.

    One of the most significant revelations is “I Shall Sing”, a Morrison original that was completed but left off the album. There are multiple takes of the song (spread across six tracks), plus a final mix of the finished song. While no one has

    In addition to the deluxe edition, the reissue will be available as an expanded two-CD set and single-disc CD set. Check out the full tracklist below.


    Moondance: Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
    Disc One – Original Album Remastered
    01. And It Stoned Me
    02. Moondance
    03. Crazy Love
    04. Caravan
    05. Into The Mystic
    06. Come Running
    07. These Dreams Of You
    08. Brand New Day
    09. Everyone
    10. Glad Tidings

    Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased
    01. What do we call this Van?
    02. Caravan (Take 1)
    03. Caravan (Takes 2-3)
    04. Caravan (Take 4)
    05. Caravan (Takes 5-6)
    06. Caravan (Take 7)
    07. Caravan (Take 8)
    08. I’ve Been Working (Early Version Take 1)
    09. I’ve Been Working (Early Version Take 2)
    10. I’ve Been Working (Early Version Take 5)
    11. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Outtake)
    12. I Shall Sing (Take 1)
    13. I Shall Sing (Takes 2-3)
    14. I Shall Sing (Takes 4-6)
    15. I Shall Sing (Take 7)
    16. I Shall Sing (Takes 8-12)
    17. I Shall Sing (Take 13)

    Disc Three – All Previously Unreleased
    01. Into The Mystic (Take 10)
    02. Into The Mystic (Take 11)
    03. Into The Mystic (Takes 12-13)
    04. Into The Mystic (Takes 14-16)
    05. Into The Mystic (Take 17)
    06. Brand New Day (Take 1)
    07. Brand New Day (Take 2)
    08. Brand New Day (Take 3)
    09. Brand New Day (Take 4)
    10. Brand New Day (Takes 5-6)
    11. Brand New Day (Take 7)
    12. Glad Tidings (Take 1)
    13. Glad Tidings (Takes 2-4)
    14. Glad Tidings (Takes 7-8)
    15. Glad Tidings (Take 9)
    16. Caravan Redo (Takes 1-2)
    17. Caravan Redo (Take 3)


    Disc Four – All Previously Unreleased
    01. Come Running (Take 1)
    02. Come Running (Take 2)
    03. Come Running (Takes 3-4)
    04. Come Running (Take 5)
    05. Come Running (“Rolling On 4”)
    06. Moondance (Take 21)
    07. Moondance (Take 22)
    08. Glad Tidings (Alt. Version)
    09. These Dreams Of You (Alt. Version)
    10. Crazy Love (Remix)
    11. Glad Tidings (Remix 1)
    12. Glad Tidings (Remix 2)
    13. Glad Tidings (Remix 3)
    14. Caravan (Remix)
    15. These Dreams Of You (Remix)
    16. I Shall Sing (Mix)

    Disc Five – Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)

    Moondance: Expanded Edition Tracklist:
    Disc One – Original Album Remastered

    Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased
    01. Caravan (Take 4)
    02. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Outtake)
    03. Into The Mystic (Take 11)
    04. Brand New Day (Take 3)
    05. Glad Tidings (Alt. Version)
    06. Come Running(Take 2)
    07. Crazy Love (Mono Mix)
    08. These Dreams Of You (Alt. Version)
    09. Moondance (Take 22)
    10. I Shall Sing (Take 7)
    11. I’ve Been Working (Early Version, Take 5)