CBGB soundtrack to feature Talking Heads, Velvet Underground, Blondie

    CBGB poster

    Later this fall, director Randall Miller will release CBGB, the biopic exploring the rise of the historic New York City punk nightclub. And while the model-esque Taylor Hawkins as the iconic Iggy Pop left this writer, and a few others, with doubts regarding general accuracy and/or quality, the corresponding soundtrack is a collection of tried and true punk anthems.

    The 20-track CBGB: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack features a who’s who of the early bands that built House CBGB, including Blondie (with a new version of “Sunday Girl”), Talking Heads, MC5, the New York Dolls, Television, The Velvet Underground, Richard Hell, Joey Ramone, The Police, and even a selection from club founder Hilly Kristal entitled “Birds and the Bees”.

    The OST hits stores on October 8th via Omnivore Recordings and will be available as a deluxe digital version and on CD and double-LP, with a first pressing of translucent pink vinyl.


    Along with Hawkins, CBGB stars Alan Rickman as Kristal, Malin Akerman as Blondie’s Debbie Harry, Rupert Grint as Cheetah Chrome, and Ashley Greene as Kristal’s daughter Lisa. The film premieres at the CBGB Festival before opening in select cities on October 11th. Watch a behind-the-scenes teaser:

    CBGB: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist:
    01. “Life During Wartime” – Talking Heads
    02. “Kick Out the Jams (Uncensored Version)” – MC5
    03. “Chatterbox” – New York Dolls
    04. “Careful” – Television
    05. “Blank Generation” – Richard Hell and the Voidoids
    06. “Slow Death” – Flamin’ Groovies
    07. “I Can’t Stand It” – The Velvet Underground
    08. “Out of Control” – Wayne County and the Electric Chairs
    09. “Psychotic Reaction” – The Count Five
    10. “All For the Love of Rock ‘n’ Roll (Live)” – Tuff Darts
    11. “All By Myself” – Johnny Thunders and the Heartbreakers
    12. “California Sun” (Original Demo) – The Dictators
    13. “Caught With the Meat in Your Mouth” – Dead Boys
    14. “I Got Knocked Down (But I’ll Get Up)” – Joey Ramone
    15. “Get Outta My Way” – The Laughing Dogs
    16. “Sunday Girl” (2013 Version) – Blondie
    17. “I Wanna Be Your Dog” – The Stooges
    18. “Sonic Reducer” – Dead Boys
    19. “Roxanne” – The Police
    20. “Birds and the Bees” – Hilly Kristal