Hear unreleased Bob Dylan track “Pretty Saro”

    dylan self portrait reissue

    As previously reported, Bob Dylan is reissuing his 1970 studio album, Self Portrait, in grand fashion on August 27th. The four-disc Another Self Portrait will include never-before-heard material from his original acoustic recording sessions and outtakes from Self Portrait along with material from 1968’s Nashville Skyline and 1970’s New Morning. Among the unearthed cuts is Dylan’s take on the 18th century English folk song “Pretty Saro”, of which he recorded six separate takes before shutting it away in Columbia’s vault.

    In anticipation of the reissue, the track has been unveiled alongside a new music video from filmmaker Jennifer Lebeau. (She also worked with Dylan on his 1994 MTV Unplugged video and the unreleased 1993 show at the Supper Club). For this collaboration, Lebeau went through over 1,200 photos from the Farm Security Administration archives, dating as far back as the 1940s . The shots of hard-working, salt-of-the-earth women farmers and workers is the perfect visual accompaniment for the song, a slow-moving ballad where Dylan’s voice reverberates with extra layers of folksy warmth. Watch it below.

    “It literally goes from women on farms with wagons to Rosie the Riveter,” Lebeau told Rolling Stone. “They were doing laundry and tilling the land, and at the end, they’re building planes and really in charge of everything at the work place. We wanted to include as many of these magnificent faces as we could, and tell this story across the years. I wanted to be able to visually represent that sort of unrequited love in a world that seems like it should be sad, but the people are always happy and fine.”


    Check out the reissue’s complete tracklist below. Pre-orders are ongoing.

    The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971) Tracklist:
    CD 1
    01. Went to See the Gypsy (demo)
    02 In Search of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    03. Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    04. Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
    05. Spanish Is the Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    06. Annie’s Going to Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    07. Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
    08. Only a Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
    09. Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
    10. I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
    11. Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    12. Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    13. This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    14. These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    15. Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    16. House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    17. All the Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

    CD 2
    01. If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
    02. Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
    03. Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    04. Days of ’49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    05. Working on a Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
    06. Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
    07. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
    08. Highway 61 Revisited (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
    09. Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    10. Bring Me a Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
    11. Sign on the Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
    12. Tattle O’Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
    13. If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
    14. New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
    15. Went to See the Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
    16. Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
    17. Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
    18. When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

    Bob Dylan & the Band at Isle of Wight – August 31st, 1969
    01. She Belongs to Me
    02. I Threw It All Away
    03. Maggie’s Farm
    04. Wild Mountain Thyme
    05. It Ain’t Me, Babe
    06. To Ramona”/”Mr. Tambourine Man
    07. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
    08. Lay Lady Lay
    09. Highway 61 Revisited
    10. One Too Many Mornings
    11. I Pity the Poor Immigrant
    12. Like a Rolling Stone
    13. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
    14. Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
    15. Minstrel Boy
    16. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35