Stream Diarrhea Planet’s new album, I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams


    Nashville rockers Diarrhea Planet are streaming their sophomore album, I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams, in full one week ahead of its release date (August 20th via Infinity Cat Recordings). Take a listen now at SPIN.

    “All these songs sound like bummer songs,” Diarrhea Planet frontman Jordan Smith said of the 13-track effort. “I promise I’m not that much of a bummer!” It’s that very dichotomy that encapsulates the album’s core output: the six-piece explore headier topics like personal loss and youthful disillusionment under the guise of power-pop anthems.

    “Field of Dreams” counters the angst of peer pressure and forced decision-making with a chorus of pulverizing drums and sweltering guitar hooks. “Togano” turns a dissection of author Fumiko Enchi’s dense Masks into a life-affirming blast of crunchy noise-rock. And even Smith’s most depressive tune to date, “Kids”, battles the ceaseless onslaught of bad news and emotional trauma with loads of rebellious volume. The record proves that, while they band is in the midst of growing up, they’re determined to do so in their own noisy, sloppy way.


    Smith also discusses the meaning and recording of each track with SPIN. Along with citing personal trauma, several songs were inspired by Roberto Bolaño’s 2666, old Foreigner and Boston tracks, visits to funeral homes, and the iconic Heavy Metal. Read the descriptions here.

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    I’m Rich Beyond Your Wildest Dreams Tracklist:
    01. Lite Dream
    02. Separations
    03. The Sound of My Ceiling Fan
    04. Field of Dreams
    05. Kids
    06. Hammer of the Gods
    07. Ugliest Son
    08. White Girls
    09. Togano
    10. Enter the Great Gate
    11. Babyhead
    12. Skeleton Head
    13. Emmett’s Vision