Stream No Age’s new album, An Object

    No Age An Object

    Los Angeles noise rock duo No Age are streaming their fourth studio album, An Object, in full one week ahead of its release date (August 20th via Sub Pop). Take a listen now at

    The follow-up to 2011’s excellent Everything In Between was recorded at Gaucho’s Electronics in Los Angeles alongside frequent collaborator Facundo Bermudez. According to press from the label, the resulting 11-track album thematically emphasizes “fracturing ideological forms and complacency, creating a striking new perspective that reveals preoccupations with structural ruptures and temporal limits.”

    The band has “forgone the straight and narrow route, landing in a strange and unexpected place, feet planted in fresh, fertile soil,” the press release adds. Drummer/vocalist Dean Spunt has bolstered his musical toolkit, utilizing “amplified contact mics, 4-string bass guitars, and prepared speakers, as well as traditional forms of lumber and metal.” Meanwhile, guitarist Randy Randall “corrals his previously lush, spastic, sprawling arrangements into taught, refined, rats’ nests.”


    The album includes artwork created by the band and designer Brian Roettinger. As the press release explains: “The band has performed, recorded, produced, and prepared and assembled the entirety of the physical packaging of An Object, including jackets, inserts, and labels, taking on the roll of manufacturer, artist, and musician until the roles trip on themselves and individual parts lose their distinct meanings, demanding to be considered as a whole.”

    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the duo perform album tracks “I Won’t Be Your Generator” and “No Ground” from this year’s Best Kept Secret Festival in The Netherlands.

    An Object Tracklist:
    01. No Ground
    02. I won’t Be Your Generator
    03. C’mon Stimmung
    04. Defector/ed
    05. An Impression
    06. Lock Box
    07. Running From A-Go-Go
    08. My Hands, Birch and Steel
    09. Circling With Dizzy
    10. A Ceiling Dreams of a Floor
    11. Commerce, Comment, Commence