Listen to an early demo of Uncle Tupelo’s “Screen Door”


    On January 28th, Legacy Recordings will reissue No Depression, the widely acclaimed debut from influential folk-rock trio Uncle Tupelo (who, of course, would later give rise to both Wilco and Son Volt).

    Included in the expanded release is Not Forever, Just For Now, a rare 10-song demo tape from 1989 recorded with the original lineup of Jeff Tweedy, Jay Farrar, and Mike Heidon. Back in November we heard one of its cuts, an early take of “I Got Drunk”. Now another gem has been unearthed, a demo version of “Screen Door”. Listen in below (via Diffuser).


    The No Depression Legacy Edition will also include bonus tracks that appear on the album’s 2003 reissue; songs taken from their 1983 self-released Live and Otherwise cassette; and five cuts off the band’s 1987 demo Colorblind and Rhymeless.

    No Depression: Legacy Edition Tracklist:

    Disc One

    No Depression (Original Album)
    01. Graveyard Shift
    02. That Year
    03. Before I Break
    04. No Depression
    05. Factory Belt
    06. Whiskey Bottle
    07. Outdone
    08. Train
    09. Life Worth Livin’
    10. Flatness
    11. So Called Friend
    12. Screen Door
    13. John Hardy

    No Depression Era Odds & Ends
    14. Left In The Dark
    15. Won’t Forget
    16. I Got Drunk
    17. Sin City
    18. Whiskey Bottle (Live Acoustic)


    Disc Two

    Not Forever, Just For Now (No Depression Demos, Produced By Matt Allison, 1989)
    01. Outdone
    02. That Year
    03. Whiskey Bottle
    04. Flatness
    05. I Got Drunk
    06. Before I Break
    07. Life Worth Livin’
    08. Train
    09. Graveyard Shift
    10. Screen Door

    From Live & Otherwise (Self-Released Cassette, 1988)
    No Depression
    12. Blues Die Hard

    From Colorblind and Rhymeless (1987 Cassette Demo)
    13. Before I Break
    14. I Got Drunk
    15. Screen Door
    16. Blues Die Hard
    17. Pickle River

Personalized Stories

Around The Web