Danny Brown to reissue Hot Soup mixtape, listen to new version of “Contra”

    On April 15th, Danny Brown will reissue his 2008 mixtape Hot Soup via Street Corner Music. Available as either 2xCD or double vinyl, the collection features five new bonus tracks. The vinyl edition also includes a separate 45 with two additional bonus tracks: “Radiohead” and “Contra”.

    This alternate version of “Contra” features an extra verse from the version found on House Shoes and Apollo Brown’s 2011 Daily Bread mixtape. It’s one of Brown’s most promising early tracks and quite indicative of the lyrical inventiveness that lay ahead. Listen below.

    Hot Soup Tracklist:
    01. Level One
    02. Dance
    03. What Up Doe
    04. Ten G’s a Week
    05. Sittin’ So High
    06. Swagger to the Max
    07. Succeed (ft. Kineses)
    08. She Love It (feat. Nick Speed & Lola Damone)
    09. Head
    10. Squeeze Precisely (feat. Rapper Big Pooh & O-Dash)
    11. Rese-Vor Dogs (feat. Mike Luke & Chip$)
    12. Gun in Yo Mouf (feat. Chip$ & Mary Won)
    13. Let’s Go
    14. Two Steps Back
    15. Work Song
    16. Streets of Detroit
    17. Numbers
    18. Watch ‘Em
    19. Hot Soup Commercial
    20. Hot Soup Interview (feat. K-Fresh)


    Bonus 45:
    Side A: Contra
    Side B: Radiohead