While his old Das Racist running buddy Heems is enjoying a “self-imposed exile in India”, the bespectacled Kool A.D. has been on a creative tear as of late. In December, he released Not O.K., a collection of leftovers from his forthcoming album, and followed it up with last month’s Coke Boys 5 mixtape alongside Kassa Overall.

Today, he returns with his aforementioned solo LP in Word O.K. Spanning 11 tracks, it features guest spots from Toro y Moi, Talib Kweli, Boots Riley, Mr. Muthafuckin eXquire, and Kassa, among others, alongside production from Toro y Moi, Amaze 88, Dame Grease, and Mike Finito. While Not O.K. proved entertaining enough, Word O.K. instantly comes off as more focused of an effort, featuring tighter, doubly succinct examples of Kool’s genre-leaping hijinks.

Stream it below, or snag a name-your-own-price download via Bandcamp.


Word O.K. Tracklist:
01. Open Letter
02. I’m On A Plane
03. Tight (feat. Lakutis and Mr. Muthafuckin eXquire)
04. Naughty By Nature
05. Word
06. Look (feat. Kassa)
07. The Front (feat. Toro Y Moi)
08. Life & Time (feat. Sir DZL and Santos Vieira)
09. Hickory (feat. Talib Kweli and Boots Riley)
10. Special Forces
11. Word O.K.

Kool A.D. has also shared the video for “Open Letter”, which follows the emcee through a day of hanging with his buddies, driving around, and rolling copious blunts. Watch it below: