Listen: Tori Amos’ new song “Trouble’s Lament”

    Following her recent dabble in classic musicalTori Amos returns to “thoughtful contemporary pop” with her 14th studio album, Unrepentant Geraldines, due out May 13th via Mercury Classics. As our first taste of the 14-track effort, Amos has unveiled “Trouble’s Lament”, a quaint bit of Americana and folk marked by fluttering piano, guitars with a slight honky-tonk tinge, and Amos’ otherworldly harmonies. Don’t be fooled by its simple nature and inherent charm, however; the song sees Amos “personify Trouble into a woman”, one who’s left her lover Satan in search of a new place to lay her head. If that’s not country music to a tee, then I don’t know what is.

    Listen in below (via Noisey):

    Unrepentant Geraldines Tracklist:
    01. America
    02. Trouble’s Lament
    03. Wild Way
    04. Wedding Day
    05. Weatherman
    06. 16 Shades of Blue
    07. Maids of Elfen-mere
    08. Promise
    09. Giant’s Rolling Pin
    10. Selkie
    11. Unrepentant Geraldines
    12. Oysters
    13. Rose Dover
    14. Invisible Boy