Stream: Future Islands’ new album Singles

future islands singles

    Baltimore synth-pop outfit Future Islands will release their new studio album, Singles, on March 25th via their new label home, 4AD. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full via

    Singles marks the band’s fourth studio album, following 2011’s On the Water, and is their “boldest and most immediate work to date.” All 10 tracks were produced by Chris Coady (Beach House, Grizzly Bear, Yeah Yeah Yeahs), who helped to develop a “more polished, hi-fi sound.”

    Frontman Samuel T. Herring described the process behind the LP and its unifying factors:

    “We’re definitely of the school of thinking that an album should be a whole experience, because those are the sort of records we loved growing up. We’re not of that iPod culture where you listen to one or two songs and that’s what you know; we’ve always wanted to make these complete works. Before starting this album I think all of us just wanted to write and write and write. Over six or seven months we demoed 24 or 25 songs and then picked the cream of the crop. To me that’s what really unifies the album; in the past we’ve tried to make things ebb and flow, with this one every song has its strengths, every song stands alone. It’s our most diverse album, I feel it shows our versatility as musicians and writers.”


    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the video for “A Dream of You and Me”:

    Singles Tracklist:
    01. Seasons (Waiting on You)
    02. Spirit
    03. Sun in the Morning
    04. Doves
    05. Back in the Tall Grass
    06. A Song for Our Grandfathers
    07. Light House
    08. Like the Moon
    09. Fall from Grace
    10. A Dream of You and Me