Stream: Mac DeMarco’s new album Salad Days

    Mac DeMarco will release his new album Salad Days on April 1st via Captured Tracks. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at NPR.

    The 11-track album was recorded after DeMarco and his band had been on the road for nearly two-straight years supporting 2012’s 2. In an interview with Exclaim, DeMarco said his creative intentions were rather straightforward: “I didn’t want to freak anybody out with a huge sound change,” he said. “I wanted to transition without changing the vibe too much. The mood for Salad Days is, ‘Fuck man! I was just on tour for a year and a half and I’m tired!”

    Speaking to Under The Radar, DeMarco explaned that the album’s a “little stranger” and “more heavy-hearted” than 2, adding, “A lot of the songs are more mid-tempo. It’s weird because I did it all in about a month. Maybe it was the mood I was in, I didn’t really feel like writing a ‘rock’ song. The new album is full of a lot of weird stuff. It’s very serious to me but I don’t know if anybody else is going to figure out what I’m talking about…and I’m not going to tell anybody what I’m talking about.”


    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the album’s promo trailer:

    Salad Days Tracklist:
    01. Salad Days
    02. Blue Boy
    03. Brother
    04. Let Her Go
    05. Goodbye Weekend
    06. Let My Baby Stay
    07. Passing Out Pieces
    08. Treat Her Better
    09. Chamber of Reflection
    10. Go Easy
    11. Johnny’s Odyssey
    12. Go Easy (demo) *
    13. Passing Out Pieces (demo) *

    * = iTunes pre-order bonus tracks