Stream: The Hold Steady’s new album Teeth Dreams

    The Hold Steady will release their first album in four years, Teeth Dreams, on March 25th via Washington Square (a new imprint launched by Razor & Tie). In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at iTunes Radio.

    The follow-up to 2010’s Heaven Is Whenever was recorded over the past two years in Brooklyn and Memphis. “We were looking to make a big rock record,” frontman Craig Finn said of the band’s intentions. “Maybe it’s less wild but in some ways that makes it a bigger record.”

    In an interview with BLARE, Finn said the 10-track album explores the concept of anxiety, adding, “I think we all have some anxieties. I don’t know if I have a lot compared to other people I know. I was talking to this doctor at a party when we first started writing the record, and he was telling me that over half of the people that come into his office have anxiety or symptoms that aren’t really happening. It made me wonder about anxiety and if we’re living in super anxious times, and that helped me write a lot of the songs that are on the new record.”


    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing. Below, watch the band perform the album track “Spinners” during a recent visit to Late Night with Seth Meyers.

    Teeth Dreams Tracklist:
    01. I Hope This Whole Thing Didn’t Frighten You
    02. Spinners
    03. The Only Thing
    04. The Ambassador
    05. On with the Business
    06. Big Cig
    07. Wait a While
    08. Runner’s High
    09. Almost Everything
    10. Oaks