White Lung announce new album Deep Fantasy

    Vancouver punk outfit White Lung will release their third album Deep Fantasy on June 17th via their new label Domino Recording Co. The follow-up to 2012’s Sorry was recorded late last year over two, 10-day-long sessions in their hometown studio alongside producer Jesse Gander (who helmed both Sorry and 2010’s It’s the Evil).

    According to a press release, White Lung “slimmed to a trio in the studio”, with long-time bassist Grady Mackintosh having departed the band earlier this year. Guitarist Kenneth William handled all the bass parts, and White Lung has recruited Wax Idols’ Hether Fortune for all upcoming shows.

    The press release adds, “The band is every bit as confrontational as before, but they’ve managed to open their sound up just enough to draw listeners in before kicking them in the face. (Vocalist Mish) Way is more provocative and melodic than ever on Fantasy, lyrically surveying addiction, body dysmorphia, and sexual dynamics, amongst other dinner table topics. William, a devotee of Johnny Marr, plays with the speed of an ’80s hardcore dude, whirled in (drummer Anne-Marie) Vassiliou’s relentless and seemingly effortless approach to (the kit).”


    Earlier this month, the band unveiled the lead single/album opener, the assaultive “Drown With The Monster”. As noted, it’ll be released as 7-inch b/w “Snake Jaw” on April 29th. Check out the song below followed by the full tracklist.

    Mish Way has also compiled a mix of songs that inspired Deep Fantasy, and Spotify users can stream it here.

    Deep Fantasy Tracklist:
    01. Drown With The Monster
    02. Down It Goes
    03. Snake Jaw
    04. Face Down
    05. I Believe You
    06. Wrong Star
    07. Just For You
    08. Sycophant
    09. Lucky One
    10. In Your Home