Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor announces new album, Await Barbarians, stream “Elvis Has Left The Building”

    Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor has announced a new solo album, Await Barbarians, which will be released on June 9th via Domino. The follow-up to his 2008 debut, Rubbed Out, the forthcoming LP finds Taylor playing and recording all instruments (except the string parts) on what promises to showcase “a more reflective side of his writing and singing.”

    On lead single “Elvis Has Left the Building”, Taylor creates a melancholic and intimate atmosphere marked with plaintive piano chords and a simple drum machine beat. It’s stripped down without being rudimentary, as Taylor’s voice vulnerably sings, “I guess we’re on our own.” Listen in below.

    Await Barbarians Tracklist:
    01. Lazy Bones”
    02. From the Halfway Line
    03. Without a Crutch (2)
    04. Immune System
    05. Dolly and Porter
    06. Closer to the Elderly
    07. Elvis Has Left the Building
    08. Piano Ducks
    09. New Hours
    10. Where Would I Be?
    11. Am I Not a Soldier?
    12. Without a Crutch (1)