Listen: Amen Dunes’ chaotic new track “I Can’t Dig It”

    With Damon McMahon, a.k.a Amen Dunes, releasing his forthcoming album, Love, on May 13th, the New York-based musician has already shared two cuts from the effort: the gorgeous “Lonely Richard” and the hypnotic “Lilac in Hand”. Today, he’s back with the LP’s penultimate track, “I Can’t Dig It”.

    Featuring Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s Efrim Menuck (who also co-produced the record) on lead guitar and former Bon Iver/Arcade Fire sideman Colin Stetson on sax, the song is one of Love’s noisier offerings. Washed in a sea of reverb, with even McMahon’s powerful voice struggling to rise above the mix, it’s somewhat threatening as ringing drums compete against scorching guitars. As dissonant and disorienting as “I Can’t Dig It” is, it’s ultimately quite pretty. Listen in below.

    Love is out on May 13th via Sacred Bones.

    Love Tracklist:
    01. White Planet
    02. Lonely Richard
    03. Splits Are Parted
    04. Sixteen
    05. Lilac in Hand
    06. Rocket Flare
    07. I Know Myself
    08. Everybody Is Crazy
    09. Green Eyes
    10. I Can’t Dig It
    11. Love