Listen: Atmosphere’s new song “Kanye West”

    While Atmosphere’s upcoming eighth studio album, Southsiders, promises track titles like the emo-sounding “The World Might Not Live Through the Night” and tongue-twisting “Let Me Know That You Know What You Want Now”, it’s track #10, “Kanye West”, that has us most intrigued. Go figure.

    “I wanted to write a song about loving something so much that you submit to the moment,” Slug told Pigeons and Planes, capturing a quote and a concept that’s quite West-ian in nature. Still, the Minneapolis hip-hop duo has done more than merely study the philosophy of Yeezy, crafting a song that references some of the best parts of the Cult of Kanye.

    On the one hand, Slug’s rhymes embrace the kind of slightly cheesy, pseudo-sagely life advice West’s been touting in recent years, as Slug practically assumes some yogic pose to deliver lines like “Time got a price/Trouble is free/If we gonna struggle I’ma do it comfortably/And live life like I love to breathe”. It’s especially effective over Ant’s production, who plucks from Yeezus and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to forge a beat of blown-out guitars, sampled piano loops, and just a dash of howling vocals.


    Also, give the duo props for already snagging chorus of the year with “Throw your hands in their air, like you give a damn and a fuck”. Listen in below:

    Southsiders is due out May 6th via Rhymesayers Entertainment. For more sounds, check out lead single “Bitter”.


    Southsiders Tracklist:
    01. Camera Thief
    02. Arthur’s Song
    03. The World Might Not Live Through the Night
    04. Star Shaped Heart
    05. I Love You Like a Brother
    06. Southsiders
    07. Bitter
    08. Mrs. Interpret
    09. Fortunate
    10. Kanye West
    11. We Ain’t Gonna Die Today
    12. My Lady Got Two Men
    13. Flicker
    14. January on Lake Street
    15. Let Me Know That You Know What You Want Now