Listen: The Black Keys’ new song “Turn Blue”

    During The Black Keys’ three-year break between albums, drummer Patrick Carney launched his own SiriusXM show. While Serious Boredom usually features Carney’s favorite indie artists from past and present, today’s episode featured the world premiere of “Turn Blue”, the title track of the Keys’ upcoming eighth studio album.

    Following the psychedelic “Fever”, “Turn Blue” is a slow and sauntering blues-rock ballad, with Dan Auerbach crooning ache-filled lines like, “In the dead of the night I start to lose control… but I still carry the weight like I’ve always done before.” Depending on your mood, it’s either the Keys lulling you into their boudoir or singing you a little lullaby.

    Watch its accompanying visualizer below:

    (Read: The Black Keys’ “Fever”: A Roundtable Review)

    The Danger Mouse-produced Turn Blue is due out May 13th via Nonesuch Records. “On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds,” Carney said in an issued statement.


    Turn Blue Tracklist:
    01. Weight of Love
    02. In Time
    03. Turn Blue
    04. Fever
    05. Year in Review
    06. Bullet in the Brain
    07. It’s Up to You Now
    08. Waiting on Words
    09. 10 Lovers
    10. In Our Prime
    11. Gotta Get Awa