Stream: Brody Dalle’s debut solo album Diploid Love

    Brody Dalle’s new album, Diploid Love, hits stores on April 29th via Universal’s Caroline imprint. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full via

    Diploid Love is the solo debut for Dalle, formerly of the Distillers and Spinerette. Co-produced by Alain Johannes (Them Crooked Vultures, Arctic Monkeys), the nine-track effort features collaborations with Queens of the Stone Age’s Michael Shuman, The Strokes’ Nick Valensi, Warpaint’s Emily Kokal, and Garbage’s Shirley Manson. It is preceded by the singles “Meet The Foetus/Oh The Joy” featuring Manson, “Parties for Prostitutes”, and “Don’t Mess With Me”.

    Discussing the aural inspiration for the album with Time Out Melbourne, Dalle cited “The Ghostbusters soundtrack on tape. I haven’t heard it since I was little,” she explained, “but whenever I do electronic drums I imagine the sound comes from that movie from the ’80s. Same with Limahl’s ‘Never Ending Story’.” She also pointed to an animal muse: “Red tail hawks are my animal obsession, we have them around our house; I could watch them all day.”


    Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

    Diploid Love Tracklist:
    01. Rat Race
    02. Underworld
    03. Don’t Mess With Me
    04. Dressed In Dreams
    05. Carry On
    06. Meet The Foetus/Oh the Joy
    07. I Don’t Need Your Love
    08. Blood In Gutter
    09. Parties for Prostitutes