Stream: Slint’s deluxe reissue of Spiderland

    Recently reunited post-rock outfit Slint are streaming highlights from the deluxe reissue of their influential 1991 album Spiderland one week ahead of its release date (April 15th via Touch and Go Records). Take a listen at NPR.

    The band’s final album before their 1992 break-up, Spiderland was immediately heralded by critics and fans alike. In his review for Melody Maker, Steve Albini (who produced 1989’s Tweez) awarded it “ten fucking stars”, adding, “Spiderland is a majestic album, sublime and strange, made more brilliant by its simplicity and quiet grace. The dry, unembellished recording is so revealing it sometimes feels like eavesdropping. The crystalline guitar of Brian McMahan and the glassy, fluid guitar of David Pajo seem to hover in space directly past the listener’s nose. The incredibly precise-yet-instinctive drumming has the same range and wallop it would in your living room.”

    The deluxe box set includes the album, which has been completely remastered from the original tapes by Bob Weston, as well as 14 previously unreleased demos and outtakes. All 20 tracks will available 180 gram vinyl as well as digitally and on CDs.


    In addition to the music, the box set comes with a 104-page book featuring rare, never-before-seen photos and lyrics, and a foreword written by Will Oldham. There’s also a 90-minute documentary entitled Breadcrumb Trail, which talks about the making of Spiderland and contains interviews with the band and artists like James Murphy, Ian MacKaye, and David Yow.

    Below, watch the band perform “Breadcrumb Trail” from a gig in London last December:

    Spiderland Remastered Box Set Tracklist:
    A1 Breadcrumb Trail (Remastered)
    A2 Nosferatu Man (Remastered)
    A3 Don, Aman (Remastered)
    B1 Washer (Remastered)
    B2 For Dinner… (Remastered)
    B3 Good Morning, Captain (Remastered)
    C1 Nosferatu Man (Basement Practice)
    C2 Washer (Basement Practice)
    C3 Good Morning, Captain (Demo)
    D1 Pam (Rough Mix, Spiderland Outtake)
    D2 Glenn (Spiderland Outtake)
    D3 Todd’s Song (Post-Spiderland Song in Progress)
    E1 Brian’s Song (Post-Spiderland Demo)
    E2 Cortez The Killer (live Chicago 1989)
    F1 Washer (4 track Vocal Demo)
    F2 Nosferatu Man (4 track Vocal Demo)
    F3 Pam (4 track Vocal Demo)
    F4 Good Morning, Captain (Evanston Riff Tape)
    F5 Nosferatu Man (Evanston Riff Tape)
    F6 Pam (Evanston Riff Tape)