Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford and Jim James perform lost Bob Dylan song “Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)” — watch

The New Basement Tapes - Bob Dylan, Mumford and Sons, Elvis Costello, Jim James

    Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes is a 15-track collection of new music based on two dozen recently discovered Bob Dylan lyrics. Due out on November 11th via Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records, the T-Bone Burnett-produced LP features folk supergroup The New Basement Tapes, aka Elvis CostelloMy Morning Jacket’s Jim JamesMumford and SonsMarcus MumfordDawesTaylor Goldsmith, and Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens. The lyrics are said to date back to 1967, during Dylan’s iconic Basement Tapes era.

    Already we’ve heard a number of Lost on the River tracks, including “Nothing To It”, “Married To My Hack”, “Spanish Mary”, “When I Get My Hands On You”, and “Liberty Street”. Now, Costello leads the mighty collective through a live performance of a new song called “Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)”. Equal parts powerful and soulful, it’s yet another solid showcasing of each of the artists’ individual talents and a great nod to Dylan’s lyrical prowess.

    Watch below (via Rolling Stone).

    Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes will be accompanied by a Showtime documentary set to debut on November 21st. According to a press release, director Sam Jones’ Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued presents an “exclusive and intimate look at the making of Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes set against the important and historical cultural backdrop of Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes.”


    Meanwhile, Dylan himself will release the entire collection of The Basement Tapes next week on November 4th. The Basement Tapes Complete: The Bootleg Series Vol. 11 spans 138 songs, including 30 never known to have existed. Stream selections of the release here.

    Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes Tracklist:
    01. Down On The Bottom
    02. Married To My Hack
    03. Kansas City
    04. Spanish Mary
    05. Liberty Street
    06. Nothing To It
    07. Golden Tom – Silver Judas *
    08. When I Get My Hands On You
    09. Duncan and Jimmy
    10. Florida Key
    11. Hidee Hidee Ho #11
    12. Lost On The River #12
    13. Stranger
    14. Card Shark
    15. Quick Like A Flash *
    16. Hidee Hidee Ho #16 *
    17. Diamond Ring *
    18. The Whistle Is Blowing *
    19. Six Months In Kansas City (Liberty Street)
    20. Lost On The River #20

    * = Deluxe edition only