Photo by Heather Kaplan

Brian Wilson returns with his 11th solo record, No Pier Pressureon April 7th via Capitol Records. This time around, however, he’s with a number of friends, including She & Him, Kacey Musgraves, and original Beach Boys members Al Jardine and David Marks. Last month, we received our first listen with “The Right Time” and now he’s offered up his second drift off the beach, “Sail Away” — featuring Blondie Chaplin and Jardine, no less.

“It’s a song that’s all about beaches and far reaches,” Wilson told Speakeasy. “We [tried] to recapture the feeling of Beach Boy harmonies in the 1960s. We overdubbed five times, which gave us 20 voices. That’s a small choir.” He’s not kidding. While the melody isn’t as strong as the previous track, it’s undoubtedly a beautiful glimpse into Wilson’s dreams. The chorus alone will send any listener into a seaside romance of the mind. Check it out below:

No Pier Pressure also features Nate Ruess, Capital Cities’ Sebu Simonian, and a cappella singer Peter Hollens. Consult the full tracklist below. In case you missed it, Wilson recently announced a block of summer dates in support, which will include the talents of Jardine and Chaplin. Don’t miss out.


Next week, dozens of musicians will celebrate Wilson’s life and career during an all-star concert at Los Angeles’ Fonda Theatre. And come June, Bill Pohlad’s highly anticipated biopic, Love & Mercy, will hit theaters everywhere. Read our Top Rated review of the film, straight from its premiere at this year’s South by Southwest.

No Pier Pressure Tracklist:
01. This Beautiful Day
02. Runaway Dancer (feat. Sebu Simonian)
03. What Ever Happened (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
04. On The Island (feat. She & Him)
05. Our Special Love (feat. Peter Hollens)
06. The Right Time (feat. Al Jardine and David Marks)
07. Guess You Had To Be There (feat. Kacey Musgraves)
08. Don’t Worry *
09. Somewhere Quiet *
10. I’m Feeling Sad *
11. Tell Me Why (feat. Al Jardine)
12. Sail Away (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine)
13. One Kind Of Love
14. Saturday Night (feat. Nate Ruess)
15. The Last Song
16. Half Moon Bay

* = w/ deluxe edition