Stream: Desaparecidos’ first new album in 13 years, Payola

Conor Oberst returns to his punk roots with politically-charged LP

Desaparecidos new album Payola Conor Oberst

    Reunited punk outfit Desaparecidos will release their first album in 13 years, Payola, on June 23rd via Epitaph Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at

    The 14-track effort serves as the long-awaited follow-up to Desaparecidos’ 2002 debut, Read Music / Speak Spanish. The Conor Oberst-fronted band broke up shortly afterward, with Oberst turning his focus back toward Bright Eyes. In 2010, however, the group started performing live again with a reunion performance at the Concert For Equality in Omaha and then embarked on a full-fledged tour in 2012. This led to a return to the studio and the release of several 7-inch singles, some of which appear on this latest record. 

    According to a press release, the band “consciously tackled a wide range of political issues at a much broader scale,” adding, “It has a greater degree of focus and musicality than the first release. Payola is more raw, louder, and angrier.”


    Pre-orders are ongoing.

    Revisit the video for “City On The Hill” below.


    Payola Tracklist:
    01. The Left is Right
    02. The Underground Man
    03. City on the Hill
    04. Golden Parachutes
    05. Radicalized
    06. MariKKKopa
    07. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
    08. Ralphy’s Cut
    09. Backsell
    10. Slacktivist
    11. Search the Searches
    12. 10 Steps Behind
    13. Von Maur Massacre
    14. Anonymous

Personalized Stories

Around The Web