Photo by Ben Kaye

On October 16th, nonprofit label Rock the Cause Records will release Gazing with Tranquility, a tribute album to ’60s folk musician Donovan. The 15-track effort boasts an impressive group of contributors, including The Flaming Lips, Hamilton Leithauser of The WalkmenAstronautalis, and Mixd Up Kidz, the moniker of Chris Mars, former drummer for The Replacements.

As a preview, Sharon Van Etten has offered up a truly powerful cover of “Teen Angel”, highlighted by her stirring, ever-emotive vocals. “I’ve admired Donovan’s voice and minimal psychedelic songs since I was a child,” Van Etten told “In the folk world he was still very ‘left’ and it stood out to me. Even though he was a trippy cat, he was still a romantic and I loved seeing both of those sides.”

Gazing with Tranquility: A Tribute to Donovan Tracklist:
01. Mixd Up Kidz – Atlantis
02. Apollo Cobra – Barabajagal (Love is Hot)
03. Maudlin – Epistle to Dippy
04. Colony House – Sunshine Superman
05. Hamilton Leithauser – To Susan On the West Coast…
06. Jillian Rae – Superlungs My Supergirl
07. Ivan & Alyosha – Catch the Wind
08. Sharon Van Etten – Teen Angel
09. Brett Dennen – Colours
10. Lissie – Happiness Runs
11. Little Man – There is a Mountain
12. Astronautalis – Season of the Witch
13. Savannah Smith – Lalena
14. Verskotzi – Mellow Yellow
15. The Flaming Lips – Atlantis