Tom Jones released his new autobiography, Over the Top and Back, earlier this month via Blue Rider Press. Today, the iconic Welsh singer has announced a companion album, Long Lost Suitcase, due out on December 4th.

Coming from S-Curve Records, the 13-track album features 11 cover songs alongside a pair of new original tracks. Jones began working on the album alongside producer Ethan Johns, son of frequent Rolling Stones producer Glyn Johns, right around the same time he signed on for Over the Top and Back. When Jones noted that the songs they were recording lined up to moments in his own life, “Ethan said, ‘It’s like a bloody autobiography,'” Jones revealed in a press release, “and I said, ‘Well, funny you should say that, because I’m actually working on one at the moment.'”

From there, the pair began picking songs that specifically fit into Jones’ life story. Some of the covers chosen include “Everybody Loves a Train” by Los Lobos, “Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used to Do?” by Hank Williams, The Rolling Stones’ “Factory Girl”, and Willie Nelson’s “Opportunity to Cry”.


The album also features Jones tackling The Milk Carton Kids’ “Honey, Honey” and Gillian Welch’s “Elvis Presley Blues”, both of which have been released as previews of the record. Take a listen below.

“Honey, Honey”:

“Elvis Presley Blues”:

Long Lost Suitcase Tracklist:
01. Opportunity To Cry (Willie Nelson)
02. Honey, Honey (The Milk Carton Kids)
03. Take My Love (I Want To Give It All To You) (Little Willie John)
04. Bring It On Home (Willie Dixon)
05. Everybody Loves A Train (Los Lobos)
06. Elvis Presley Blues (Gillian Welch)
07. He Was A Friend Of Mine (Dave Van Ronk)
08. Factory Girl (Rolling Stones)
09. I Wish You Would (Billy Boy Arnold)
10. ‘Til My Back Ain’t Got No Bone (William Bell)
11. Why Don’t You Love Me Like You Used To Do? (Hank Williams)
12. Tomorrow Night (Original Song)
13. Raise A Ruckus (Original Song)