Paul Westerberg and Juliana Hatfield’s The I Don’t Cares annouce debut LP, share “Born for Me” — listen

Wild Stab is due out in less than 24 hours

    Paul Westerberg of The Replacements and Juliana Hatfield announced their partnership as The I Don’t Cares back in October. Along with the singles “1 / 2 2 P” and “King of America” came the promise of the duo’s debut full-length. Now, they’ve officially announced the impending release of Wild Stab due out January 22nd (that’s tomorrow!) on Dry Wood.

    The LP consists of 16 tracks, many of which find Westerberg being unfamiliarly cheery. It would seem that both he and Hatfield have found rejuvenation in their new collaboration. “Making this music, that elusive ‘never done this before’ feeling permeated the little room more than once,” the band says in the album’s liner notes, “and it was very welcome.”

    As a last-second preview of the album, they’ve shared the single “Born for Me”. A reworking of a song from Westerberg’s 1999 solo record, Suicaine Gratifaction, this updated version has a shambolic pep in its step. Instead of a touching acoustic ode, it’s now an energetic and playful declaration of perfect romance. Check it out over at The Current.


    Find the Wild Stab album art and tracklist (which features both of last year’s singles) below.

    Wild Stab Album Art:

    Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 12.46.06 PM

    Wild Stab Tracklist:
    01. Back
    02. Wear Me Out Loud
    03. Born For Me
    04. 1/2 2P
    05. Sorry for Tomorrow Night
    06. Dance to the Fight
    07. Kissing Break
    08. Just a Phase
    09. Outta My System
    10. Need the Guys
    11. Love Out Loud
    12. King of America
    13. Little People
    14. Whole Lotta Nothin’
    15. Done Done Done
    16. Hands Together