French electronic duo Cassius returned last month with “Action”, their first new music in 10 years. Now, Philippe Zdar and Boom Bass have made their reemergence complete by announcing their new album, Ibifornia.

Due out June 24th via Interscope/Polydor Records, the album takes its title from the combination of Ibiza and California. It’s a fitting portmanteau, as Cassius were intent on making a record that encapsulates the energy of both those locations. “This album, for the first time in our life, has something which is more,” Zdar explained to Pitchfork. “It’s not only a collection of tracks. It’s really offering a way of thinking (laughs) about your life — finding your Ibifornia. And go there and be happy there. There are too many moments where we don’t do what we want to do. This place is super powerful for us.”

Described as a “Cassius and the Family Stone”-style effort, the record features a number of guest contributors. Cat Power and Beastie BoysMike D both showed up on “Action”, and the latter also raps on “Love Parade”. Cat Power’s Chan Marshall, meanwhile, appears again on “Feel Like Me” and joins Pharrell Williams on “Go Up”. That track is premiering today along with “The Missing” featuring OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder and Jaw.


“Go Up” is a grimy disco track filled with island rhythms. Williams and Marshall’s vocals are layered in enchanting way, both vocalists luring you into the sweet release of the music. “The Missing”, meanwhile, is a smokier number built on Tedder’s falsetto and twanging guitar lines. Listen to both below.

Pre-orders for Ibifornia, which also sees John Gourley of Portugal. The Man appear as guests, are ongoing. That’s the album artwork above, and you can find the full tracklist below.

Ibifornia Tracklist:
01. The Missing feat. Ryan Tedder & Jaw
02. Love Parade feat. Mike D
03. Action feat. Cat Power & Mike D
04. Go Up feat. Cat Power & Pharell Williams
05. Ibifornia
06. Hey You feat. Ryan Tedder
07. Feel Like Me feat. Cat Power
08. Blue Jean Smile feat. John Gourley of Portugal. The Man
09. The Sound Of Love ft. Jaw
10. Ponce