Blood Orange surprise releases new album Freetown Sound: Stream/download

Plus, check out the music video for "Augustine"

    Dev Hynes had announced a July 1st release for Freetown Sound, his latest album as Blood Orange. However, today he surprised fans by making the Domino Records release available a few days in advance. It can be streamed/downloaded digitally via a variety of platforms, including Spotify (below) and Apple Music.

    The much-anticipated Freetown Sound follows 2013’s Cupid DeluxeThe album’s 17 tracks were written and produced by Hynes himself and boast guest appearances from the likes of Carly Rae Jepsen, FKA twigs, Empress Of, Debbie Harry, and De La Soul, among others.

    “I have just finished making an album about my life, my upbringing, being black in England, being black in America… my movement to this country at the age of 21, the same age that my mother moved from Guyana to London, and my father from Sierra Leone to London,” Hynes detailed the LP in a press release. “Freetown Sound, the name of my album, is taken from Freetown where my father was born.”


    The statement continues, noting that Freetown Sound is “profoundly personal and unapologetically political, touching on issues of race, religion, sex, and sexism,” adding it’s “a confluence of Hynes’ past, present, and future that melds his influences with his own established musical voice.”

    In a previous interview with V MagazineHynes called it “my version of Paul’s Boutique. It kind of plays like a long mixtape.”

    Additionally, the official music video for LP track “Augustine” has been revealed. It features a cameo from Julian Casablancas. Watch above.


    Purchase a copy of the album here. A CD and vinyl release is set for August 19th.

    Freetown Sound Tracklist:
    01. By Ourselves
    02. Augustine
    03. Chance
    04. Best to You
    05. With Him
    06. E.V.P.
    07. Love Ya
    08. But You
    09. Desiree
    10. Hands Up
    11. Hadron Collider
    12. Squash Squash
    13. Juicy 1-4
    14. Better Than Me
    15. Thank You
    16. I Know
    17. Better Numb